Estimated Control Announced Transaction verified Beauty & Personal CareCPGDigital Led BeautySkincare

Paula's Choice acquired by Unilever

Unilever agreed to acquire Paula's Choice, a beauty & personal care brand, on Jun 14, 2021.

Transaction summary

Target
Paula's Choice
Acquirer
Unilever
Seller
TA Associates
Announced
2021-06-14
Geography
-
Tags
Beauty & Personal CareCPGDigital Led BeautySkincare
Type
Acquisition
Deal type
Control
Stake acquired
-
First added
2026-06-18
Latest update
2026-06-18

Parties at the deal date

Seller

TA Associates

TA Associates is one of the world's oldest and most successful mid-market private equity firms. TA has five decades of demonstrated success helping to scale growth companies around the world across five core industries - Business Services, Consumer, Financial Services, Healthcare and Technology. TA invests in both minority and majority transactions - our capital is commonly used to provide liquidity to shareholders, working capital, acquisitions or growth. TA partners with owners and management teams to build outstanding businesses. It focuses on profitable businesses with strong management teams and proprietary products and services. We take a long-term approach, and provide flexible financial structures that are driven by your objectives.

Snapshot preserved for this transaction; current company profiles may differ.

Value and multiples

100% enterprise value

USD 2.0B

100% enterprise value | USD

Basis: Public source

Reported price is assumed to be 100% EV unless stated otherwise. Partial-stake estimates are qualified in the basis notes.

EV / revenue

6.7x

Period not stated

Basis: FundComb estimate

EV / EBITDA

18x

EBITDA basis not stated

Basis: FundComb estimate

Amounts paid and other reported values

Original reported amounts and bases; a stake payment is distinct from the estimated whole-company valuation.

Unknown: USD 2.0B

Retail Beauty Google News result headline states 'Unilever to acquire Paula’s Choice in $2 billion deal'; primary Unilever source verifies the acquisition but fetched primary evidence does not disclose economics. Amount also matches pasted spreadsheet.

Basis

  • USD 2.0bn transaction value is treated as publicly disclosed or derived directly from public source data.
  • Valuation covers 100% of the target; the amount invested or paid for a stake is separate.
  • Implied EV / revenue is 6.7x, calculated from USD 2.0bn value and USD 299m revenue.
  • Revenue and multiple inputs are not fully disclosed in public transaction materials reviewed; treat the multiple as an estimate.
  • Pasted spreadsheet shows USD 2,000m valuation, USD 299m revenue, USD 111m EBITDA, 6.7x revenue and 18.0x EBITDA.

Source summary

No public source summary has been published for this transaction yet.