Confirmed Control Closed Transaction verified BeautyCPGSkincare

Ci:z Holdings Co., Ltd. acquired by Johnson & Johnson

Johnson & Johnson acquired Ci:z Holdings Co., Ltd., a Japanese skincare brand, on Oct 23, 2018.

Transaction summary

Target
Ci:z Holdings Co., Ltd.
Acquirer
Johnson & Johnson
Seller
-
Announced
2018-10-23
Geography
Japan
Tags
BeautyCPGSkincare
Type
Acquisition
Deal type
Control
Stake acquired
-
First added
2026-06-18
Latest update
2026-06-18

Value and multiples

100% enterprise value

USD 2.1B

100% enterprise value | USD

Basis: Public source

Reported price is assumed to be 100% EV unless stated otherwise. Partial-stake estimates are qualified in the basis notes.

EV / revenue

4.5x

Period not stated

Basis: FundComb estimate

EV / EBITDA

22x

EBITDA basis not stated

Basis: FundComb estimate

Amounts paid and other reported values

Original reported amounts and bases; a stake payment is distinct from the estimated whole-company valuation.

Unknown: USD 2.1B

Fierce Pharma Google News result headline, published Oct. 23, 2018, states a '$2.1B deal to buy out Japan's Ci:z'; full article was not fetched.

Basis

  • USD 2.1bn transaction value is treated as publicly disclosed or derived directly from public source data.
  • Valuation covers 100% of the target; the amount invested or paid for a stake is separate.
  • Implied EV / revenue is 4.5x, calculated from USD 2.1bn value and USD 467m revenue.
  • Revenue and multiple inputs are not fully disclosed in public transaction materials reviewed; treat the multiple as an estimate.
  • Spreadsheet shows USD 2.1B valuation, USD 467M revenue and USD 95M EBITDA, yielding approximately 4.5x revenue and 22.0x EBITDA.

Source summary

No public source summary has been published for this transaction yet.