CeraVe, AcneFree, Ambi acquired by L'Oréal
L'Oréal agreed to acquire CeraVe, AcneFree, Ambi, a skincare brand, on Jan 10, 2017.
Transaction summary
- Target
- CeraVe, AcneFree, Ambi
- Acquirer
- L'Oréal
- Seller
- Valeant Pharmaceuticals
- Announced
- 2017-01-10
- Geography
- -
- Tags
- Acne CareCPGDermatology SkincareSkincare
- Type
- Acquisition
- Deal type
- Control
- Stake acquired
- -
- First added
- 2026-06-15
- Latest update
- 2026-09-29
Parties at the deal date
Acquirer
L'Oréal BOLD (Business Opportunities for L'Oréal Development) is L'Oréal's corporate venture capital fund, investing in startups across the beauty value chain including beauty brands, platforms, technology, and science for beauty.
Snapshot preserved for this transaction; current company profiles may differ.
Value and multiples
100% enterprise value
USD 1.3B
100% enterprise value | USD
Basis: FundComb estimate
Reported price is assumed to be 100% EV unless stated otherwise. Partial-stake estimates are qualified in the basis notes.
EV / revenue
7.7x
Period not stated
Basis: FundComb estimate
EV / EBITDA
-
EBITDA basis not stated
Basis: FundComb estimate
Amounts paid and other reported values
Original reported amounts and bases; a stake payment is distinct from the estimated whole-company valuation.
Unknown: USD 1.3B
Pasted spreadsheet row lists USD valuation_m of 1,300; supplied public web evidence verifies the transaction but does not confirm value.
Basis
- USD 1.3bn enterprise value is a FundComb estimate. Public sources reviewed confirm the transaction, but do not independently disclose every valuation input.
- Valuation covers 100% of the target; the amount invested or paid for a stake is separate.
- Implied EV / revenue is 7.7x, calculated from USD 1.3bn value and USD 169m revenue.
- Revenue and multiple inputs are not fully disclosed in public transaction materials reviewed; treat the multiple as an estimate.
- Owner-defined 100% EV convention applied to the exact valuation_m cell in original spreadsheet candidate 63. Amount and currency unchanged; remains user-supplied, not independently confirmed. Previous source context: Pasted spreadsheet row lists USD valuation_m of 1,300; supplied public web evidence verifies the transaction but does not confirm value.
Source summary
No public source summary has been published for this transaction yet.