Swisse acquired by Biostime
Biostime acquired Swisse, an Australian vitamins & supplements brand, on Sep 17, 2015.
Transaction summary
- Target
- Swisse
- Acquirer
- Biostime
- Seller
- -
- Announced
- 2015-09-17
- Geography
- Australia
- Tags
- CPGSkincareSupplementsVitaminsVitamins & SupplementsWellness Products
- Type
- Acquisition
- Deal type
- Control
- Stake acquired
- 83%
- First added
- 2026-06-19
- Latest update
- 2026-09-29
Value and multiples
100% enterprise value
AUD 1.7B
100% enterprise value | AUD
Basis: Public source
Reported price is assumed to be 100% EV unless stated otherwise. Partial-stake estimates are qualified in the basis notes.
Approx. $1.2B USD using FX date 2015-09-17 at 0.7170 AUD/USD.
EV / revenue
3.65x
Period: LTM August 2015
Basis: Derived from source data
EV / EBITDA
10.2x
EBITDA basis not stated
Basis: Derived from source data
Amounts paid and other reported values
Original reported amounts and bases; a stake payment is distinct from the estimated whole-company valuation.
Consideration: USD 1.7B
Google News headlines from SMH.com.au and The Age dated 2015-09-17 state Swisse was bought by Biostime for $1.67 billion; fetched evidence does not specify currency or EV/equity basis.
Basis
- AUD 1.7bn enterprise value is treated as publicly disclosed or derived directly from public source data.
- Valuation covers 100% of the target; the amount invested or paid for a stake is separate.
- Implied EV / revenue is 3.65x, calculated from AUD 1.7bn value and AUD 457m revenue.
- Revenue and multiple inputs are not fully disclosed in public transaction materials reviewed; treat the multiple as an estimate.
- Biostime’s Swisse partnership presentation reports AUD 1,670m enterprise value for the whole company and an 83% acquisition. The old USD label and 2.5% stake were incorrect. No further division by 83%.
Source summary
100% EV basis review
ConfirmedBiostime’s Swisse partnership presentation reports AUD 1,670m enterprise value for the whole company and an 83% acquisition. The old USD label and 2.5% stake were incorrect. No further division by 83%.
Open source