GoPro acquired by Starman Optical, Inc.
Starman Optical, Inc. agreed to acquire GoPro, a US consumer electronics brand.
Transaction summary
- Target
- GoPro
- Acquirer
- Starman Optical, Inc.
- Seller
- GoPro shareholders
- Announced
- -
- Geography
- United States
- Type
- Acquisition
- Deal type
- Control
- Stake acquired
- 90%
- First added
- 2026-09-23
- Latest update
- 2026-09-29
Value and multiples
100% enterprise value
USD 409M
100% enterprise value | USD
Basis: Estimated
Reported price is assumed to be 100% EV unless stated otherwise. Partial-stake estimates are qualified in the basis notes.
EV / revenue
-
Period not stated
Basis: Public source
EV / EBITDA
-
EBITDA basis not stated
Basis: Public source
Amounts paid and other reported values
Original reported amounts and bases; a stake payment is distinct from the estimated whole-company valuation.
Consideration: USD 285M
Estimated EV proxy: US$285m shareholder cash / 90% + US$92m debt repayment = approximately US$408.667m. The announcement describes 10% retained ownership in the combined company, not a priced 10% of standalone GoPro: proportional rollover valuation is an approximation. No separate cash adjustment is disclosed; working-capital adjustment remains possible. Original shareholder payment tracked separately. Quarterly revenue is not treated as full-year revenue.
Consideration: USD 285M
GoPro's official announcement, distributed by PR Newswire, states that shareholders will receive an aggregate cash payment of $285 million, or $1.14 per share, subject to a potential net-working-capital adjustment. The announcement also states that approximately $92 million of debt will be repaid at closing; that debt repayment is excluded from the selected cash-consideration value.
Basis
- USD 409m enterprise value is a FundComb estimate. Public sources reviewed confirm the transaction, but do not independently disclose every valuation input.
- Valuation covers 100% of the target; the amount invested or paid for a stake is separate.
- Estimated EV proxy: US$285m shareholder cash / 90% + US$92m debt repayment = approximately US$408.667m. The announcement describes 10% retained ownership in the combined company, not a priced 10% of standalone GoPro: proportional rollover valuation is an approximation. No separate cash adjustment is disclosed; working-capital adjustment remains possible. Original shareholder payment tracked separately. Quarterly revenue is not treated as full-year revenue.
Source summary
GOPRO ENTERS INTO DEFINITIVE AGREEMENT TO MERGE WITH STARMAN OPTICAL, INC.
ConfirmedGoPro and Starman Optical announced a definitive merger agreement under which GoPro shareholders would receive $285 million in cash, retain approximately 10% of the combined company, and have GoPro debt repaid at closing.
Open sourceGoPro to be acquired for $285M, will remain a public company | TechCrunch
ConfirmedGoPro to be acquired for $285M, will remain a public company | TechCrunch TechCrunch Desktop Logo TechCrunch Mobile Logo Latest Startups Venture Apple Security AI Apps Disrupt 2026 Events Podcasts Newsletters Search Submit Site Search Toggle Mega Menu Toggle Topics Latest AI Amazon Apps Biotech & Health Climate Cloud Computing Commerce Crypto Enterprise EVs Fintech Fundraising Gadgets Gaming Google Government & Policy Hardware Instagram Layoffs Media & Entertainment Meta Microsoft Privacy Robotics Security Social Space Startups TikTok Transportation Venture More from TechCrunch Staff Events Startup Battlefield StrictlyVC Newsletters Podcasts Videos Partner Content TechCrunch Brand Studio Contact Us Image Credits: GoPro Gadgets GoPro to be acquired for $285M, will remain a public company Sean O'Kane 8:57 AM PDT · September 1, 2026 After years of financial struggles, action camera pioneer GoPro is being acquired for $285 million. A company called Starman Optical has agreed to merge with GoPro. The deal involves Starman Optical paying GoPro shareholders $1.14 per share and leaving those shareholders with about 10% of the newly combined company. The deal, expected to close by the
Open source100% EV basis review
EstimatedEstimated EV proxy: US$285m shareholder cash / 90% + US$92m debt repayment = approximately US$408.667m. The announcement describes 10% retained ownership in the combined company, not a priced 10% of standalone GoPro: proportional rollover valuation is an approximation. No separate cash adjustment is disclosed; working-capital adjustment remains possible. Original shareholder payment tracked separately. Quarterly revenue is not treated as full-year revenue.
Open sourceContinue your research
Related transaction comps
Saltair acquired by TSG Consumer
2026-07-30 · Confirmed
View transaction → ConsumerVitabiotics acquired by Bain Capital
2026-07-24 · Confirmed
View transaction → ConsumerSudsies, Inc. acquired by EVI Industries, Inc.
2026-07-20 · Estimated
View transaction → ConsumerGrüns acquired by Unilever
2026-04-09 · Estimated
View transaction →